Located in the North West of South America, bordering the Pacific Ocean at the Equator, between Colombia and Peru lies Ecuador, measuring 283,520 Sq Km. With its capital as Quito, it is home to about 13 million people with the dominant language, being Spanish. The earliest historical details of Ecuador, date back only as far as the 11th century A.D Before the Inca conquest of the area that comprises modern-day Ecuador, the region was inhabited by four culturally related Indian groups; the Esmeralda, the Manta, the Huancavilca, and the Puna. They occupied the coastal lowlands from north to south. The first Spaniards landed in northern Ecuador in 1526. Despite the fact that there were no major uprisings, life was difficult for the locals under Spanish rule. Spain ruled the colony from Lima, Peru, until 1739, when it was transferred to the viceroyalty of Colombia. The 'Republic of the Equator' emerged from the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830 and then later lost some of its territories to its neighbours between 1904 and 1942. A border war with Peru flared in 1995 but was resolved in 1999.


Ecuador Islands

Ecuador Islands

This beautiful tour takes you though the sights of Ecuador from Cotopaxi to the Islands, wildlife sanctuaries and Islands

Galapagos Tours


The Ecuador islands of the Galapagos have been a sought after destination for years and offer a unique look at the result of years of evolution from the volcanic area