Situated between the Andes in the west and the southern Atlantic Ocean in the east and south, lies Argentina. It is the second largest country of South America after Brazil and the 8th largest country in the world. It is bordered by Paraguay and Bolivia in the north, Brazil and Uruguay in the northeast, and Chile in the west and south. In addition, it also claims the Falkland Islands and South Georgia and under the name of Argentine Antarctica, part of Antarctica. The name Argentina is derived from the Latin word argentum, meaning silver.

The origin of this name goes back to the first voyages made by the Spanish conquerors who, after surviving a shipwrecked, encountered indigenous people who gave them silver objects as gifts. The city of Buenos Aires is home to about 3 million people and about 11 million, living in the Greater Buenos Aires, making it one of the largest urban conglomerates in the world. The cities of Cordoba and Rosario, each comprise about 1.3 million inhabitants.

Argentina can roughly be divided into three parts: the fertile plains of the Pampas in the central part of the country, the flat to rolling plateau of Patagonia in the southern half down to Tierra del Fuego and the rugged Andes mountain range along the western border with Chile. Here, lies one of the famous 7 summits, Cerro Aconcagua at 6,960 m.


travel to argentina

Iguazu Falls

One of the most diverse falls in the world, these falls that span the border of Argentina and Brazil a wonder to behold

Argentina Tours

Across Patagonia

Head out across the Patagonian landscape, through Cafayate and on to Ushuaia and the Beagle Channel

Argentina tours

Beauty of Patagonia

Patagonia has so much to offer, from the glaciated steps around El Calafate to the incredible souring peaks of the Torres del Paine


Climb Aconcagua

This tough and demanding climb will take you to one of the seven summits to 6962m